Welcome to my blog

Posted on July 30, 2007. Filed under: administration, library, Library 2.0, Web 2.0 |

I am intrigued and often excited about the possibilities of new technologies and trends, frequently referred to as Web 2.0 and/or Library 2.0.  Many people do a great job of commenting on these issues and I do not want or need to duplicate their efforts.  However, I have not found a regular discussion of those trends from a library administrator’s point of view.   Hopefully, this blog can provide a place for people to look at these technologies and trends and comment on the possible hopes and fears related to implementing them in our libraries.   I also hope this can be a place where everyone can exchange perspectives and ideas. I have the great good fortune to work with David King davidleeking.com.  He pushes me by just challenging my mind and my biases and he has encouraged me to start this blog.  This can be very exciting and sometimes frustrating because I don’t have enough time to play with the new stuff.  I usually find the new stuff fun, but don’t always see a direct application at our library.  We all fight the budget battle and the space and time challenges.  I hope we can discuss these issues and maybe find new perspectives that will help everyone. My PlanI plan to post regularly based upon my readings and experience as the Deputy Director of Operations at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library.  This is my personal blog and does not represent the official position of my employer.  If you have questions, ideas, or thoughts that you think would fit into this concept, I would enjoy putting them out for response.  I look forward to hearing from you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Welcome to my blog”

RSS Feed for Library Admin Musings Comments RSS Feed

[…] I’m not saying that ’cause he’s my boss – really :-). Why? Read this from his first post: “I am intrigued and often excited about the possibilities of new technologies and trends, […]

Good for you! I agree, there is a big hole out there when it comes to blogs that reflect an administrator’s POV. And that is a huge problem. So go for it! I’m interested to see what you have to say! :)

I’ve added your new blog to my Bloglines account and I’ll be reading regularly. Looking forward to it!

very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
Idetrorce

Oh, and did not know about it. Thanks for the information …


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

